Skip to main content
We cannot list our used books online but we are working on this. Please call us at 404-486-0307 for any used title.
Close this alert
Nothing Can Hurt You Now (Pushkin Vertigo)

Nothing Can Hurt You Now (Pushkin Vertigo)

Current price: $16.95
Publication Date: March 5th, 2024
Publisher:
Pushkin Vertigo
ISBN:
9781782278191
Pages:
192
Eagle Eye Book Shop
On hand, as of Apr 18 3:18pm
(NEW FICTION)
On Our Shelves Now

Description

A page-turning Brazilian debut thriller about a missing model living a double life as a sex worker, and the sister whose frantic search uncovers more secrets and suspects

A punchy thriller with a fiery feminist perspective, perfect for fans of Marie Rutkoski

A furiously contemporary and vibrant thriller that crackles with danger — this gripping and utterly addictive new feminist thriller will hook you from the first page and keep you up all night.

Lucinda has lived her whole life in the shadow of her glamorous and outgoing high-end model sister Viviana. But when Viviana suddenly disappears on a trip to São Paulo, Lucinda drops everything to track her down.

Met with indifference from the police, Lucinda joins forces with Viviana's girlfriend Graziane to launch her own investigation. When she discovers that her sister had a thriving career as a sex worker, the list of possible suspects widens.

Then a cryptic text suggests that Viviana is still alive but being held hostage. With the minutes ticking by, Lucinda and Graziane must track down the men from Viviana's past to discover who might want to do her harm.

This feisty thriller offers a fast-paced, very contemporary — and often very funny — politically conscious adventure.

About the Author

Simone Campos lives in Rio de Janeiro where she was born in 1983. Her literary debut, No Shopping, was released when she was 17, and since then she has published one short-story collection and four novels. She is also the translator of several English-language books into Brazilian Portuguese, including Paula Hawkins' The Girl on the Train and Margaret Atwood's The Testaments. This is her first thriller.

Rahul Bery translates from Spanish and Portuguese and is based in Cardiff. He has translated novels by David Trueba and Afonso Cruz, and his shorter translations have appeared in The White Review, the TLS, Granta, Words Without Borders, Freeman's and Partisan Hotel. He was the British Library's translator in residence from 2018-2019.