Skip to main content
We cannot list our used books online but we are working on this. Please call us at 404-486-0307 for any used title.
Close this alert
Tides of Fire: A Sigma Force Novel

Tides of Fire: A Sigma Force Novel

Current price: $32.00
Publication Date: August 15th, 2023
Publisher:
William Morrow
ISBN:
9780062893079
Pages:
480
Eagle Eye Book Shop
On hand, as of Apr 18 4:17pm
(NEW FICTION)
On Our Shelves Now

Description

In the latest riveting thriller from James Rollins, the #1 New York Times bestselling author of the Sigma Force series, an international research station in the Coral Sea comes under siege during a geological disaster that triggers massive quakes, deadly tsunamis, and volcanic eruptions. To stop the world from burning, it’s up to Sigma Force to uncover a secret buried at the heart of our planet. 

The Titan Project—an international research station off the coast of Australia—discovers a thriving zone of life in an otherwise dead sea. The area teems with a strange bioluminescent coral that defies science, yet holds great promise for the future. But the loss of a military submarine in the area triggers a brutal attack and sets in motion a geological disaster that destabilizes an entire region.

Massive quakes, volcanic eruptions, and deadly tsunamis herald a greater cataclysm to come—for something is stirring miles under the ocean, a threat hidden for millennia.

As seas turn toxic and coastlines burn, can Sigma Force stop what has been let loose—especially as an old adversary returns, hunting them and thwarting their every move? For any hope of success, Commander Gray Pierce must search for a key buried in the past, hidden deep in Aboriginal mythology. But what Sigma could uncover is even more frightening—something that will shake the very foundations of humanity.

About the Author

James Rollins is the author of international thrillers that have been translated into more than forty languages. His Sigma series has been lauded as one of the “top crowd pleasers” (New York Times) and one of the “hottest summer reads” (People magazine). In each novel, acclaimed for its originality, Rollins unveils unseen worlds, scientific breakthroughs, and historical secrets—and he does it all at breakneck speed and with stunning insight. He lives in the Sierra Nevada.

Praise for Tides of Fire: A Sigma Force Novel

“Science fiction and archaeology have had a long relationship. The link is a conviction that there is a hidden truth in the relics of dead civilizations…and that this can be uncovered by what we now know about science… The dominant figure in this area of fiction right now is James Rollins.” — Wall Street Journal

"There’s plenty of brisk action in this undersea yarn . . . . A solid Sigma Force adventure that’s sure to please thriller fans." — Kirkus Reviews on Tides of Fire

"The X-Files meets Seal Team Six in Rollins’s imaginative, pulse-pounding 17th Sigma Force thriller . . . . Rollins’s gleeful everything-but-the-kitchen-sink approach works well here, nimbly balancing popcorn action with mind-blowing scientific speculation. The author has rarely been better at making the implausible feel plausible." — Publishers Weekly on Tides of Fire

Tides of Fire is an outstanding, high-octane read that will make you look at the world around you from a different point of view and should be treated as a cautionary tale about what our planet is capable of.” — Bookreporter.com

“Master of the Doomsday scenario, James Rollins combines earthquakes, tsunamis, and the hellish fury of the Ring of Fire with the disappearance of a Chinese nuclear submarine to reveal…a hidden sea of ancient coral like nothing seen before on our planet—harboring Medusa's power to turn human flesh into stone. Another must-read Sigma Force thriller.”
Steve Alten, bestselling author of The MegMeg 2: The Trench, and The Loch, on Tides of Fire

“Exhilarating…Fans of Clive Cussler and Michael Crichton won’t want to miss this one.”  — Publishers Weekly (starred review) on Kingdom of Bones

“The Sigma Force novels (this is the sixteenth) are muscular, dynamic action-adventures. But this doesn’t mean they skimp on character: Rollins knows just when to slow things down and let us get to know the players. He’s very good at this sort of thing, and his fans will surely be lining up for this one.”  — Booklist on Kingdom of Bones  

“After reading a James Rollins book, you come away not only exhilarated but having learned some valuable information in the process. Some have called him a successor to the late great Michael Crichton, and nowhere is this more evident than in Kingdom of Bones… Full of scientific adventure…extremely frightening…[Rollins] has transformed the subject matter into high-octane fiction that is impossible to put down or forget.” — Bookreporter.com

“Bestseller Rollins’s excellent 15th Sigma Force novel... marries nail-biting action with a highly imaginative premise….This is a thoughtful, nonstop thrill ride that’s an exemplar of an escapist page-turner.”  — Publishers Weekly (starred review) on The Last Odyssey