search image
Daniel Black in conversation with Jericho Brown
Tuesday, February 01
7:00 - 8:00pm

Special Event Offer

Join us for a book launch with Daniel Black as he talks with Jericho Brown about his new book Don't Cry For Me. 

Pre-Order The Book Here
https://eagleeyebooks.com/home/bookdetailsin/9781335425737

Eagle Eye Book Shop is able to serve the community and bring amazing events because of book sales.  Please suppport local business and powerful community voices by buying the book at the event or pre-ordering with us!

"Don't Cry for Me is a perfect song."—Jesmyn Ward

A Black father makes amends with his gay son through letters written on his deathbed in this wise and penetrating novel of empathy and forgiveness, for fans of Ta-Nehisi Coates, Robert Jones Jr. and Alice Walker


As Jacob lies dying, he begins to write a letter to his only son, Isaac. They have not met or spoken in many years, and there are things that Isaac must know. Stories about his ancestral legacy in rural Arkansas that extend back to slavery. Secrets from Jacob's tumultuous relationship with Isaac's mother and the shame he carries from the dissolution of their family. Tragedies that informed Jacob's role as a father and his reaction to Isaac's being gay.

But most of all, Jacob must share with Isaac the unspoken truths that reside in his heart. He must give voice to the trauma that Isaac has inherited. And he must create a space for the two to find peace. 

With piercing insight and profound empathy, acclaimed author Daniel Black illuminates the lived experiences of Black fathers and queer sons, offering an authentic and ultimately hopeful portrait of reckoning and reconciliation. Spare as it is sweeping, poetic as it is compulsively readable, Don't Cry for Me is a monumental novel about one family grappling with love's hard edges and the unexpected places where hope and healing take flight.


Event Location

Eagle Eye Books


Don't Cry for Me (Hardcover )

  • By Daniel Black
  • Price: $26.99
  • ISBN: 9781335425737
  • Published: Hanover Square Press