Skip to main content
We cannot list our used books online but we are working on this. Please call us at 404-486-0307 for any used title.
Close this alert
For the Last Time: A Novel

For the Last Time: A Novel

Current price: $19.99
Publication Date: December 5th, 2023
Publisher:
Crooked Lane Books
ISBN:
9781639107056
Pages:
320
Usually Ships in 1 to 5 Days

Description

Internationally bestselling author of the “gripping” (Lisa Jewell) Three Perfect Liars, Heidi Perks is back with a thrilling new novel.

Dark secrets are revealed when a therapist becomes obsessed with her troubled new patients, for fans of Alex Michaelides and The Golden Couple.

When Erin and Will walk into Maggie’s office for a marriage counseling session, Maggie believes they are an ordinary couple with ordinary problems: communication, intimacy, the usual. But as Maggie struggles to get the couple to open up about what brought them here, she begins to sense that not all is as it seems. 

When Erin mentions something connected to Maggie’s past that she couldn’t possibly know, Maggie is disturbed and confused. Why does Erin know anything about Maggie’s long-missing sister? Erin is connected to her somehow, and Maggie is no longer trying to fix the couple’s marriage–she’s trying to uncover her own truth. Maggie knows her code of ethics as a therapist should immediately stop her working with this couple, but she’s desperate for answers about her sister’s disappearance, and she can’t resist using her position to delve deeper into Erin’s memories and what she might know. Erin and Will might not be what they seem–but neither is Maggie. 

This dual-perspective psychological thriller will keep readers turning pages until every last secret comes to light.

About the Author

Heidi Perks was born and raised in the seaside town of Bournemouth on the south coast of England. After moving up to London for a short stint, she has since moved back to Bournemouth where she now lives with her husband and two children. Heidi has been writing since she was small, though for too many years her day job and career in marketing got in the way. Now she writes full time and cannot think of anything she would rather be doing.

Praise for For the Last Time: A Novel

Praise for For the Last Time:
For the Last Time will have lovers of suspense and thrillers on the edge of their seats.”
Manhattan Book Review

“Gripping, twisty and dark. Heidi Perks at her finest.” 
—Lucy Clarke, Sunday Times bestselling author of The Hike

“This cleverly crafted novel takes you into a therapist’s motives and beyond. Nail-biting.”
—Jane Corry, Sunday Times bestselling author of Coming to Find You

“Dark and intriguing. Heidi Perks just gets better and better.”
—Alice Clark-Platts, author of The Cove

For the Last Time is unputdownable. From the very first scene, I was desperate to know what happened next. Heidi Perks weaves the story together with various points of views and timelines to keep you guessing, expertly getting inside the heads of multiple characters without overwhelming the reader. What a suspenseful ride!”
—Flora Collins, author of A Small Affair and Nanny Dearest