Skip to main content
We cannot list our used books online but we are working on this. Please call us at 404-486-0307 for any used title.
Close this alert
Captain Grey's Gambit: A Novel (A Thomas Grey Novel #2)

Captain Grey's Gambit: A Novel (A Thomas Grey Novel #2)

Current price: $17.95
Publication Date: April 11th, 2023
Publisher:
W. W. Norton & Company
ISBN:
9781324050551
Pages:
256
Eagle Eye Book Shop
On hand, as of Apr 11 11:16pm
(NEW FICTION)
On Our Shelves Now

Description

A taut historical thriller for fans of The Queen’s Gambit and James Bond.

December 1803: A French invasion fleet is poised to cross the Channel and storm the beaches of southern England. A member of Napoleon’s inner circle—disaffected by Napoleon’s creeping tyranny—contacts the British naval intelligence service in hopes of defecting to London. His escape plan calls for a rendezvous at an international chess tournament in Frankfurt—a rare opportunity for him to travel outside France. Naval intelligence sends its top man—and best chess player—Captain Thomas Grey, to orchestrate the Frenchman’s escape to England. But Grey’s mission changes dramatically when the defector demands that his pro-Napoleon daughter come with him—expecting Grey to act not just as escort but kidnapper.

The second novel in J. H Gelernter’s already lauded Captain Grey series, Captain Grey’s Gambit continues a story that is “smart, fast, twisty, and dangerous” (Lee Child) in a “richly imagined early nineteenth-century world” (Richard Snow).

About the Author

J. H. Gelernter is the author of the Thomas Grey novels: The Montevideo Brief, Hold Fast, and Captain Grey’s Gambit.

Praise for Captain Grey's Gambit: A Novel (A Thomas Grey Novel #2)

[A] superior sequel to 2021's Hold Fast…. Gelernter’s clever premise matches his well-rounded and plausible lead, and vivid depictions of the developments in the conflict between England and France enhance the suspenseful espionage plot.

— Publishers Weekly (starred review)